杜 莹

创始董事总经理

杜莹博士现任泉创资本创始董事总经理。杜莹博士是中国生物产业的领军人物,是一名成功的医药研发者、企业家、投资者。杜莹博士以其在业界的广泛影响力、与多家政府机构的合作,成为中国医药创新的领导者。

 

杜莹博士于1994年在美国辉瑞开始职业生涯,主管全球代谢类疾病项目转让及相关兼并收购,并参与领导不同疾病领域内的多个前期及后期药物项目的研发,其中有两个药物获得美国食品药品管理局批文在全球销售。

 

继辉瑞之后,她于2002年创立和记黄埔医药(上海)有限公司。在杜莹博士的领导下,和记黄埔医药成为中国新药研发的领军企业,先后将五个1.1类新药带入临床实验,包含首个进入国家药监局绿色审评通道的新药,还有两个进行到全球临床三期的项目。杜博士用十年时间,为公司建立起肿瘤和自身免疫领域的丰富产品线,并与包括阿斯利康、强生、礼来、默克雪兰诺和雀巢在内的制药巨头建立了独家战略合作关。

 

继和记黄埔之后,杜莹博士于2012年加入红杉资本中国基金,担任董事总经理主管医疗健康产业的投资,在两年的任期内,其领导的投资都取得了显著的回报。

 

在对新药研发热情的驱动下,杜莹博士重回企业家的身份,于2014年创立再鼎医药。公司致力于为中国带来变革性药物,成为全球知名的生物制药公司。

 

因其在业界卓越的贡献和深远的影响力,杜莹博士获得了多个奖项和荣誉称号:2017年百华协会终身成就奖、2016年百华协会年度人物、人民网药促会首届(2015年)中国医药创新最具影响力人物、2015年FierceBiotech全球生物医学界12名最杰出女性之一、2018年上海市政府“白玉兰荣誉奖”和2008年中国企业家。杜莹博士在辛辛那提大学取得博士学位。

Samantha Du

Founding Managing Director

Samantha Du is Founding Managing Director of Quan Capital. During her career, she has been a successful drug developer, entrepreneur, investor and an overall industry leader in China, recognized for her wide influence on healthcare policies and for her work with various government bodies in China.

 

Dr. Du began her career with Pfizer in the US where she was responsible for the company’s global metabolic licensing program and was also involved in the development of multiple early and late-stage products, including two global blockbusters.

 

Dr. Du achieved her first success as an entrepreneur with founding Hutchison MediPharma (HMP), which was widely recognized as a leader for innovative drug R&D in China, bringing five category 1.1 drugs into clinical trials. In addition to the development of a rich pipeline in oncology and autoimmune diseases, she established partnerships with multinational companies such as AstraZeneca, J&J, Lilly, Merck Serono and Nestle.

 

Following her time at HMP, she joined Sequoia Capital as head of healthcare investments for China, making significant returns to the fund during her two-year tenure.

 

Driven by her passion for drug development and entrepreneurship, Dr. Du returned and founded Zai in 2014 with the goal of bringing innovative transformative medicines to China and creating a globally recognized biopharmaceutical leader. In 2017, Dr. Du successfully took Zai public on the NASDAQ.

 

Dr. Du has been recognized with awards such as 2016 BayHelix Person of the Year, China Entrepreneur of the Year 2008, and FierceBiotech’s Top 12 Women in Biopharma 2015 among many others. Dr. Du is currently an adjunct professor at Fudan University, School of Pharmacy. She earned her Ph.D. in Biochemistry from the University of Cincinnati.